Blog 6-DTC 375: Stock

Hello there

                   How are you? Thats great, I am glad youre here because I would like to talk to you about college.I know that it doesn’t seem like you should worry about it now, especially since you’re only 16, but you should think about it nonetheless. Why? That is a great question son, college is there for you to learn, to run into obstacles and overcome those obstacles. College is where you discover who you are without your parents there to tell you what you should do, about your attendance, and telling you to do your homework. You have to get motivated your self, you have to make time to study, time to game, and if you’re like me, you have to make time for your job as well. Back in my day, we had a choice of colleges we could go to, even had inexpensive colleges called community colleges. Unfortunately in 2055, those were abolished when the government went into a tyrannical rule under Jorge Dubya Gwash. He said that since people could afford to go to community college with out of pocket funds, it was taking away from government funded financial aid, in which you will have to use to pay for your tuition, which is $264,000 per semester. When I went to community college I was paying a little over a thousand per semester, and when I went to University I was paying about 16 thousand per semester. Hard to imagine school for that inexpensive isn’t it? Good thing I am 93 years old and I am still working to pay for your school, your parents have 3 jobs each, and you get to work at the age of 16 so you can start to pay for your college as well. But trust me, if you don’t go to college and find a job that pays well, you’ll have to work 23 hours a day for 6 days a week in order to pay for college for your children. With a college degree you will be able to pay your financial aid in 75 years instead of over 100, where you’ll have to transfer your dues to your kids. If you think “Oh, I’ll just rather not go to college” Well Gwash has that covered, it’s a law called “No person without financial aid” Which roughly translates to, if you aren’t paying student loans you get a fine of $2000 every 4 months.  Much like the Affordable Healthcare Act of 2013. Anyway son, I really hope you understand the absolute importance of college, getting a degree, and being able to pay for your portion of Student Loans so you don’t transfer your debt to your kids. Just as a little example, I was talking to a customer when I was in a restaurant, he went to WSU in 1954, he told me he was paying about 900 dollars per semester. That is 5% or 1/17 of what I was paying per semester, now in 2064, consequently 60 years after I went to school, you’re paying about 17 times what I paid…which is $272,000, luckily you’re only paying $264,000 per semester. If that isn’t enough, here link into my brain and see this image that I BillGatesed(googled).

I hope you enjoyed this read.

Quin

 Blogs(5) I commented on:

Shannon H- http://shannonheric.wordpress.com/

Jon A- http://jonarthur1992.wordpress.com/2014/02/28/blog-post-dtc-375-e-books/comment-page-1/#comment-11

4 thoughts on “Blog 6-DTC 375: Stock

  1. jhpearson says:

    First of all, your blog posts are super entertaining to read. But I also think that you a valid (albeit extremely exaggerated) point about how the price of college tuition is going up. I don’t think it’s something that I personally have noticed since I have a tuition waiver thanks to the G.I. Bill, but I think that your use of charts explains the skyrocketing costs of tuition extremely well, and I think they provide a good model for how much college is going to cost in the future.

  2. […] Responses: Lisa G. Quin R. […]

  3. Kyleen Koenig says:

    Quin,
    What a creative post! I was really entertained. You did a really good job of creating a futuristic college environment, and referencing the ridiculous prices of tuition and the rise of it. The idea of community colleges becoming obsolete is very interesting, the more money hungry the government gets, the more loans they want to give out! You’re graphs you included were nice visual representations of your argument. Nice job!
    Kyleen

  4. Very entertaining. I could almost see myself as a 16 year old in the year 2055 about to be boned by increased tuition fees. Probably because I’m feeling it right now too but I’m a few years older.

Leave a comment